Town of Thompson's Station Design Review Commission Minutes of the Meeting August 5, 2015

Call to Order.

The meeting of the Design Review Commission of the Town of Thompson's Station was called to order at 4:04 p.m. on Wednesday, August 5, 2015 with the required quorum. Members and staff in attendance were Commissioners Steve Bennett, Wanda Bradley, Kim Peterson and Mary Khim; Town Planner Wendy Deats and Town Recorder Chandra Boughton. Commissioner Daryl Stevens was unable to attend.

Consideration of Minutes.

The minutes of the June 3, 2015 meeting were previously submitted.

Commissioner Peterson moved for approval of the June 3, 2015 Design Review Commission meeting minutes. The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

New Business:

1. Non-Residential Site Plan approval for a 13,150 square foot located at 2604 Thompson's Station Road East. (File DR-2015-004).

Mrs. Deats reviewed the request. Based on the project's consistency with the existing buildings, Mrs. Deats recommended that the Design Review Commission approve the project as presented, with the following contingencies: Prior to occupancy, the landscaping shall be installed in accordance with the approved plans; Prior to the installation of landscaping a pre-installation meeting shall be required. The Commission expressed concern about the hardiness of the Foster Holly, suggesting a hardier Holly be used instead. They also expressed concern about the lack of foundation planting on the northwest and southeast sides of the building.

After discussion, Commissioner Khim moved for approval of the Design Review and Landscaping Site Plan for a 13,150 square foot located at 2604 Thompson's Station Road East, to include the staff recommended contingencies as well as an additional contingency: Add foundation plantings to the southeast and northwest sides of the building. The motion was seconded and carried unanimously. The Commission also recommends replacing the Foster Holly with a hardier type of Holly.

Adjourn.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

-Steve-Bennett, Chairman-

Darryl Stephens, vice Chairman

Waxle l

Wanda Bradley, Secretary